find what to input in dataPath("") with linux?

edited November 2014 in Programming Questions

So I'm a bit of a newbie in linux, I'm using crunchbang (debian) and I was hoping to test out some of the sketches I made in window...

One of my sektches uses the dataPath() function to find all the jpeg images from a folder. The thing is, I don't know how to find the data path... I know in windows you'd type the drive letter then whatever folders resulting in something like C:/Users/Margsy/processing/mysketch

However, things seem different with linux... I tried this command line in the terminal to find the path to my sketch readlink -f mysketch.pde which gave something like /home/margsy/processing/mysketch/mysketch.pde

So I put dataPath("/home/margsy/processing/mysketch") in my sketch but that really isn't working.

There's not any error message until the sketch tries doing something with the images- at which time it says NullPointerException it didn't find but it's the same problem that happens when I have the data path wrong in Windows, so I'm assuming that's the problem.

Is it because I need to indicate the drive? If so, how do I find it's id? Any hints?

Answers

• did you try dataPath("") without further content between "" ?

• edited November 2014

could you post your windows sketch for us?

• Answer ✓

I think you didn't understand what is the point of dataPath(). Giving it a full path has no sense. The point is to prepend the path of the data folder of the current sketch to the given argument:

dataPath("file.png") should return something like "/path/to/sketchbook/SampleSketch/data/file.png"

• edited November 2014

So I'm a bit of a newbie in Gnu/Linux, I'm using CrunchBang (DebIan)...

Seems like you're more veteran than me who uses simple-minded Ubuntu-based distros! =))

1 of my sketches uses the dataPath() function...

Both dataPath() & dataFile() are undocumented functions which point to sketchPath's "/data" subfolder.