Changing between game levels

edited November 2014 in How To...

Hi everybody, this is my second topic, and it's about (again) the game I'm doing for University. This is my first post where I explained the game me and a (solved) doubt. The game is a simple bouncing ball, but as I am a beginner in Processing I get stuck sometimes.

I've done the first level: bouncing ball breaking blocks after two hits. When the ball touches them, they are moved off the screen. In the first hit the become darker, which is made by a String 'state': when it's equal to 'intact' they still red, when it's 'touched' they become darcker red.

Up to there everything is ok. When you destroy every block, you get the message 'YOU WON', and pressing a key you get to the second level. Here is the problem. After hours trying to make it work, I could make that the base, the ball, and the blocks drawing works perfectly, but when the hits them, nothing happends. I think the problem is in the conditional (in the block class) who detects if the ball touch the block, if it's true it become 'touched', and after that it goes outside the window. I know that I don't explain very well, and my english doesn't help. I just uploaded the pde's files if you want to understand better. Here you can download it (4kb).

Some useful translations (my sketch is in spanish):

-juego=game

-inicio=start

-nivel=level

-mover=move

-ancho=width

-alto=height

-dibujar=draw

-bloque=block

-estado=status

-intacto=intact

-dañado=deny/touched

-destruidos=destroyed

-ganaste=won, perdiste=loose

Thank you very much, hope you understand me.

Tagged:

Answers

• when it works in the first level and doesn't work in the 2nd, it has to do with the transition from level one to two.

when the conditional works in the 1st level, it works in the 2nd

my suspicion is that you need to reset some stuff, especially set all states back to intact and the other boolean back to their initial state (very important).

;-)