How to change scale of ellipse using mouseDragged

etcetc
edited October 2014 in Questions about Code

Hello!

I'm totally new in the forum and am a bit petrified of asking my question in the wrong place and pissing everyone off, so if I should be posting elsewhere, please let me know. I also did my best to check if my question has already been addressed but I've found nothing.

I'm a bit new to the interaction side of Processing. Currently, my code does the following: with each click of the mouse, (using mousePressed();) ellipses are drawn in various different colors.

What I'm having trouble with is adding code that will allow for the mouseDragged(); command to control how big/small/oval/round each ellipse will be. I've tried using scale();, but no changes appear _at all _ when I run the code.

Here is my code so far (without scale(); since it wasn't effecting any changes) What should I be including in my mouseDragged() command? Any hints or tips would be so appreciated. I want to keep my code as simple as possible. :

//global varialbes
float x = 20;
int value = 0;

//setup
void setup() {
 size(800, 800);
 background(255,255,255); 
}

//draw
void draw() {
}

// Whenever a user clicks the mouse, the code written inside keyPressed() is executed.
void mousePressed(){
 noFill();
 stroke(random(255), random(255), random(255), random(255));
 strokeWeight(x-15);
 color(40, 50, 100);
 ellipseMode(CENTER);
 ellipse(mouseX,mouseY,100,100);  
}

// Whenever a user drags the mouse the code written inside keyPressed() is executed.
void mouseDragged(){

}

Answers

• _vk_vk
    edited October 2014 Answer ✓

draw() is a loop that, by default, goes continuously at 60fps.

mousePressed() and mouseDragged() are "listening" to mouse. And are called every time mouse is pressed or dragged respectvily.