using serial input from arduino to execute events in processing

edited February 24 in Arduino

Hi all, I'm new to processing and I'm having trouble getting something to work when I try to base its execution on input from arduino. I can, however, get it to work work when I use keyPressed(). In both cases, the code loads a few images in the window without issue. In the keyPressed() version (works as intended), I use switch to pick the set of images to display, as defined by two other functions, femaleAngerTest and schematicAngerTest. When those appear, you either click on the correct image and get one image on top of the others, or you get it wrong and get a different image on top of the others. This is the user feedback. But I really want the arduino to trigger the test functions, not a keypress.

In the keyPressed() version, I can hit 'a' on the keyboard, and the appropriate set of images will sit there till you click on something, then the feedback will occur. If I then hit 'b', the other set of images will appear wait for you to click on something, then display the feedback image. Both of those are good things. But when I send trigger values from the arduino and read from the serial port in processing, the images appear, but I can only get feedback from a click if I click my mouse button super fast. The mouse press only gets noticed if I can do it right when the set of images loads. I can see that the value I'm sending (simple transmission of a 1 or 2, alternating every 5 seconds via delay for testing purposes) is being received, and the correct image test is occurring, but that isn't doing me any good if I can't get a response from processing when I mouse click on them. So, I'm just wondering what the issue is, and how I can fix it. I want to be able to do the following:

1) Send a value from Arduino to Processing to trigger one of the tests. Eventually, there will be more than 20, I just want to get 2 working for now.