Frame and for loop

edited April 2014 in Hello Processing

Hi all,

Quick question.

I am a complete beginner in Processing. From what I understood, the frame is updated once draw() runs from top to bottom. Once it gets to the bottom, the frame is updated. i.e 1st frame is 1 loop through draw(), from the code at the top, to the bottom. 2nd frame is the second run through draw(). FrameRate is number of frames per second. So with the default 60, it means 60 frames per second. So 60 runs through draw() in a second?

When we have a for loop, is it after the for loops have finished looping, and the function existing, does the frame become updated? i.e is the first frame after 1 run of the for loop, or after the for loop has finished running?

I hope this makes sense.

Answers

• Answer ✓

So 60 runs through draw() in a second?

It attempts to! We can set a diff. target FPS w/ frameRate().

Is the first frame after 1 run of the for loop, or after the for loop has finished running?

I don't know which for loop you're talking about!
    Everything is drawn into a PGraphics referenced by variable g.
    At the end of draw(), that content is finally rendered to the screen!

• Okay thanks, let me try to get this right! I am so slow...

• By default, frameRate() is set to 60 frames per second. This means that every second, the code in draw() is run 60 times. 60 runs through draw(). So every second, content (the result of the code in draw() being executed) is drawn to PGraphics 60 times, so content is rendered to the screen 60 times in a second. So every second, you are seeing the results of the 60th frame (60th time draw() is run) on the screen?