Setting alpha values of pixels and counting total pixels changed

edited April 2014 in How To...

Hey everyone, I'm pretty new to processing and coding in general, so I was going through the tutorial at

http://www.processing.org/tutorials/pixels/

and have hit a problem at this part

http://www.learningprocessing.com/examples/chapter-15/example-15-9/

I want to change the alpha values of the pixels to reveal an image underneath, but instead of having this "flashlight effect", I wanted them to stay at the alpha value set, almost like an erasing effect. Furthermore, I would like to be able to find a value for the total amount of pixels that have been "erased". However, I can't even seem to change the alpha values at all. So far I've used the code from the above example, with an added alpha parameter but it doesnt seem to work, and I don't know why..

Code:

PImage img, city;

void setup() {
  size(450,650);
  city = loadImage( "City.jpg" );
  img = loadImage( "Girl.jpg");
  image(city,0,0,450,650);
}

void draw() {

loadPixels();

for (int x = 0; x < img.width; x++ ) {
    for (int y = 0; y < img.height; y++ ) {

int loc = x + y*img.width;

float r = red (img.pixels[loc]);
      float g = green (img.pixels[loc]);
      float b = blue (img.pixels[loc]);
      float a = alpha (img.pixels[loc]);

float distance = dist(x,y,mouseX,mouseY);
      float adjustBrightness = (50-distance)/50;

// r *= adjustBrightness;
     // g *= adjustBrightness;
     // b *= adjustBrightness;
      a *= adjustBrightness;
      // Constrain RGB to between 0-255
      r = constrain(r,0,255);
      g = constrain(g,0,255);
      b = constrain(b,0,255);
      a = constrain(a,0,255);
     // a = constrain(a,127,255);
      // Make a new color and set pixel in the window
      color c = color(r,g,b,a);
      pixels[loc] = c;

}
  }

updatePixels();  
}

I saw that someone else had pretty much the same problem:

http://forum.processing.org/one/topic/working-with-pixels-alpha-values.html