Another NullPointerException error breaking my brains

edited March 2014 in Using Processing

Hello I'm a complete noob at programming so bear with me I have read some stuff about this error, but either nothing I can understand (yet) or that even helps

Have no idea where to begin resolving this error.

cantfigureout

Basically what I want is to use Processing to make something nice to go along with the music I make to put on Youtube, so I got some visualisers from OpenProcessing, but NONE of them work (All I get is either this error, or just a blank window) and I'm at my wits end because I can't find anything about this anywhere

Answers

• edited March 2014

Dunno much, but perhaps Minim library work only on Oracle's Java version? :-??
    I was never able to successfully play audio w/ OpenJDK! :o3

• edited March 2014

It means there is no file called "droost.mp3" in either you sketch or sketch's data folder. With known filetypes, sometimes the filetype is hidden. Are you sure the file is not called "droost.mp3.mp3"? Also take a look at all the minim examples that come with Processing to see if these work on your computer.

• edited March 2014

Hey @amnon In the screenshot I included explicitly the open folder of the file. As you can see, the file has the right name and should be in the right folder. Take a look at my screenshot and you'll see what I mean. Everything SHOULD work, but it doesn't.

@GoToLoop, can you please elaborate? As far as I know, Minim comes standard with Processing and it should work.

• edited March 2014

Since it doesn't work, you should collect information and try different things. Sometimes the error is in something unexpected, hence my suggestions.