Need help for programming screen tilting for Android and other things

edited March 2014 in Android Mode

Hello,

I'm not sure if I'm posting this at the right place, so please forgive if I put it up wrongly. Anyway, I made a small dumb game where you move a bar from side to side to catch a little ball and a score board counts each time you catch it. Which I want to run on my Android SmartPhone (Samsung Galaxy S2).

My questions regarding this: - I've programmed the bar to move with the arrowkeys (RIGHT, LIFT) but how do I make them touched based so you can play the game with a touch screen? I'm thinking that I probably have to use the mouse function, but I'm fairly lost at this point (please note that I'm very new to programming). - I would also like to know who you program the part where you turn the screen (screen tilting?) on your SmartPhone and your app/game turns with it... I'm guessing that I've to do some scaling that makes sure that when the screen is turn everything will match it, plus I can't know what resolution other people runs on their SmartPhones. But how do you do the turn thing? - I could also use some help on the scaling bit... all I know is that I probably need to use dist() or something? Or make a int/float for size_x,size_y, but I'm not really sure how to tell that they can change with a display size / resolution...

I've more questions regarding this but I think they may become more clear to me as I go along (hopefully).

PS. Does it matter that I've programmed the game in Processing? Because I haven't added the Android mode yet and I haven't added the SDK tools and stuff like that... I got rather confused by the guide on Processing.org, maybe because I use Windows and the example was based on OSX.

PSS. I might not reply right away, I'm a little pressed for time at my university for the next 2 weeks or such.

Thank you.

Answers

• edited March 2014

Moved to Android Mode category, since this seems to be your main focus.