Create an Animation by drawing with your hand (or mouse). For my Thesis!

Hi all!, I'm working on my thesis and I was wondering if someone could help me with my little problem!

I'm new in the Processing field, how could I create a real time animation of a sketch in the same frame of time in which i'm drawing it?

for example: if I draw a line on my tool, I'd like it to show (by pushing a button) how I created that line, through an animation.

If could also suggest me some readings or references, that would be very much appreciated. Thank you so much for your help and time.

Tagged:

Answers

• You're going to have to break the animation down into individual frames. You can't just animate drawing a line in a single frame. By definition the animation will have to consist of multiple frames.

• how could I create a real time animation of a sketch in the same frame of time in which i'm drawing it? for example: if I draw a line on my tool, I'd like it to show (by pushing a button) how I created that line, through an animation.

There are several ways to interpret this question -- please define your terms so we know what problem to help you with.

if I draw a line on my tool

I'm assuming this tool is your processing sketch, e.g. you click with the mouse, drag, and release. Is this a line tool (straight line) or a pencil tool (trail of dots)?

I'd like it to show how I created that line, through an animation.

If this is a line tool, do you want to play back everywhere the mouse was before the person finally released the button, dropping the final line segment? If this is a pencil tool, do you want to play back the trail of dots in order? should it be real-time (the speed of the mouse) or line-length time (x dots per second)?

• References: see section tutorials, section reference, section examples, section books on the website

• edited February 2018