Z position in Camera/View Space

edited January 2014 in GLSL / Shaders

I am new to shaders and trying to create a shader that highlights a particular plane of pixels on the z axis. I have done a bunch of poking around the web for an accurate representation of the world or eye space so that I can input the z value from the Processing sketch to the shader and then highlight that plane. But my calculations seem off.

It is my impression that the eye space is relative to the camera position so that that if the cameraZ is set to 300, the eye position of an object on the z axis at 0 should be 300 (or maybe -300), but my calculations seem to be off.

I suspect I am not calculating the eye space correctly but I haven't seen an answer that makes the adjustments.

My object is always at the origin (in world space/ processing) and I move the camera to see what different values look like. By moving the mouse I can scrub the selected zPlane in the shader. When the highlighted region is centered on the hexagon and it "blinks" the hole shape when facing the camera I believe that should be the zPlane of the origin, but my results are as follows:

zPlane: 254.5  camZ: 311.76917  near: 31.176916  far: 3117.6917
zPlane: 204.0  camZ: 261.76917  near: 26.176916  far: 2617.6917
zPlane: 152.5  camZ: 211.76917  near: 21.176916  far: 2117.6917
zPlane: 102.0  camZ: 161.76917  near: 16.176916  far: 1617.6917
zPlane: 50.0  camZ: 111.769165  near: 11.176916  far: 1117.6917

It is my impression that the zPlane and camZ should be equal when the hexagon is blinking but as you can see they aren't. I have included my calculations of the default processing clipping planes as well. My suspicion is that it has something to do with that.

Any help or direction would be great. Thanks.

Here is my processing sketch:

PShape shape;
PShader shader;
float zPlane, cameraZ, nearZ, farZ;
color bgColor;

void setup() {
  zPlane = 500.0;
  cameraZ = 500;

size(640, 360, P3D);
  colorMode(HSB, 1.0);