Arrays within Objects within ArrayLists... How to Call Array Elements?

edited November 2017 in Questions about Code

Greetings! I started programming a couple weeks ago, watching Daniel Shiffman's videos and messing around with the 3.0 editor; it's so much fun! Usually I can troubleshoot my way out of my mistakes within a few hours. But I've not been so lucky lately! Hence my post...

I've been building parts of a storytelling game, and I've been trying out models for managing non-player character data. Right now I have an ArrayList of "NPC" class objects; it is called "knownNpcs". NPC objects each have an array called "cond". I don't get an error when I write data to the "cond" array elements, but I can't seem to call the elements later. Here is the "NPC" object constructor code, initializing the "cond" array, which runs without error...

int [] cond = new int [3]; cond[0]=TcondA; cond[1]=TcondB; cond[2]=TcondC;

TcondA etc are arguments passed through when the constructor is called. But when I try to call these same elements, I get a "NullPointerException" error... Here's how I'm trying to call the "cond" array element 0 from the "NPC" object which is element 0 of the "knownNpcs" ArrayList:

knownNpcs.get(0).cond[0] (this is just the call, not a full line of code)

Is my syntax wrong? How do I call elements within arrays within objects within ArrayLists?

I really appreciate any help you can give me! Thank you in advance!

Answers

• edited November 2017

You are doing everything right; what has tripped you up is a quirk of ArrayLists: They do not know the type of object they are storing unless you are very specific and tell them it.

I'm guessing that when you define the knownNPC Arraylist, you have a line of code like this:

ArrayList knownNPCs = new ArrayList();

What you need to do is tell the ArrayList that it is only for storing NPC classes. Like so:

ArrayList<NPC> knownNPCs = new ArrayList().