Sharing my work (G. Analytics Visualization) and some doubts

I've just published this P5js sketch that allows users with Analytics accounts to visualize their data geographically. http://tailorandwayne.com/starry-analytics/ (some example shots at the end of the post)

Still many things to improve. My management of html elements, for example... but also, I've encountered these problems that might either be bugs or my fault (I'm just getting started on P5js):

• When using a function as the callback for a DOM element event,

var but = createButton(items[i].name,items[i].type+","+items[i].created);
          but.id(items[i].id);
          but.parent(profilesP);
          but.addClass("setupB");
          but.mousePressed(selectProfile);

I was expecting to be able to access the element's value using this.value(), but instead I have to dig into the object's properties and find this.elt.value. Is that expected?

• The touches array was always empty, even when using a phone browser and multiple fingers.
  • I set the canvas as the background via index-z, then it becomes unclickable. I work my way around that by making all other elements unselectable,

.unselectable {
        -webkit-touch-callout: none;
        -webkit-user-select: none;
        -khtml-user-select: none;
        -moz-user-select: none;
        -ms-user-select: none;
        user-select: none;
    }

and especially flagging when the mouse is clicking on a DOM object and then assuming that the rest of clicks and drags within the canvas must be on it. Still, often the mouse interaction is not reliable. Not sure if there's a cleaner way of achieving this.

Here's the code if anyone's interested: https://github.com/JuanIrache/StarryAnalytics

And some shots of my data:

Answers

• Sadly I don't have a GA account so can't test this; but the screenshots look cool!