How to use mathematical functions into processing

edited October 2017 in How To...

Hi, I am new to using processing but I am looking to use functions in math to create artwork for my school project. I'd first use desmos to figure out what functions to use to create said artwork, but I don't know how I would then translate that work into processing. An example of artwork I want to create is this: https://www.desmos.com/calculator/a6kkjwoi7h . I want to learn how to be able to translate these functions to processing and then visualize the same art from running the processing code. Thank you :)

Tagged:

Answers

• example by koogs

int max;

void setup() {
      size(400, 400);
      max = 300;
    }

void draw() {

if (max <301) { 
        max++;
      }

background(0);

translate(200, 200);
      stroke(255);
      line(0, -200, 0, 200);
      line(-300, 0, 300, 0);
      stroke(255, 0, 0);
      for ( int x = -300; x < max; x++) {
        line( x, f(x), x-1, f(x-1) );
      }
    }

float f(float x) {
      return( (x/30) * (x/30) * (x/30) );
    }

• example by koogs

Um... no? That's mine.

• for ( int x = -300; x < max; x++) {

mine? with that whitespace!?! god no. 8)

• Have you looked under the Math libraries for examples -- e.g. qscript?

https://processing.org/reference/libraries/#math

• the problem with that bb8 page is that they are using implicit equations, and that's hard to translate into code

for instance, the equation for the outer circle there

(y + 1)^2 + (x -. 5)^2 = 5{y <= .9}

you could iterate over x and y and plot the pixels where the equation is true. but what range of values do you use for x and y? (the {y <= .9} is perhaps a hint there) and what increment?

(and i chose the easiest example above!)

• Such equations need to be transformed so that y is alone on one side as it were and we can use x as a parameter, right?

y=.....x.....x.......;

but still the valid range and increment for x remains important