JSON data extraction issue

I am very new to this and could use a point in the direction of where to find more information on how divide up and create different arrays in a flexible way. thanks for any help!

I am using government json files to make files to cut on a cnc. the issues is very simple and I know what causes it I just need help finding some information on how to deal with it and maybe even a work around.

here is my issue: Some objects will have 30 items and others will have 35 items and I am not sure how to deal with the issue of missing data that i am looking for. If I for-loop through the array of objects and look at each item for some info and its not there I get an error. ----> can not read property "whatEverImLookingFor" of undefined.

I have seen the files in column format and the columns will be blank. I want to know how to make it blank or just omit those objects missing the info I am looking for.

sorry If this does not make sense I am not even sure what to call the things I am describing for instance is this what everyone is calling parsing. I need just a really good push in the correct direction thanks! -t

Tagged:

Answers

• edited September 2017

It's pretty generic what you write

To show some code and example data would help

But from what you wrote, you should use some kind of jsonArray.size() in the for loop as a upper bound to avoid that you read over the end of an json array.

Now if you fill your own array with a fixed size in this for loop and you pre-define the content as 0 (or it is automatically 0) you have default values at the end that don't get overwritten in the for loop. (Or use an array of ArrayList of different sizes).

Second idea: if you retrieve data that's not there the returned value in some cases is null (this is for loadStrings(), not tested for json). So you can test on if(val!=null) etc. - see reference null