RDM630 (RFID Readers) connected to Processing by Arduino

edited March 2017 in Arduino

Hello all,

I'm totally new to processing and I currently have a project working with Arduino and Max 7, but I want to get in to the open source world.

Currently it's working as :

• 6 RFID readers wait for a tag they know
  • Each one is connected to an Arduino ( I recently switched from ID12 to rdm630 due to borrowing those ID12s) -The Arduinos(6) all have been connected to an Mega -The Mega waits for a digitalpin ( each digitalpin is connected to all other Arduinos) and plays a soundfile.

the flow is: for example! - Tag 1 is found on reader 2 -> reader 2 has three digitalpins connected to the Mega, digitalpin 4 is for tag 1, digitalpin 5 is for tag 2, digitalpin 6 is for tag 3. - digitalpin 5 gets turned HIGH - the Mega has (6x3 => digitalpin14 to digitalpin32) pins which it reads and waits till it finds a HIGH signal. -Those pins are connected to an individual soundfile which it will play.

I hope this is a bit clear!

My real question would be, how can I use Processing to take over the Max part. I found out that I can use Firmata to read the digital pins of the arduino through processing, but the RDM630 is connected to a digitalpin from the arduino.

And in that way it talks to the arduino, which ( with the firmata script replaced with one that reads the Rdm630 data) Serialprints the tag ID + info to the Console.

So the first obvious problem I need to tackle is to find a way to get the tag data from the reader, via an arduino on Firmata? But as I have loaded Firmata on the arduino and hold a tag at the reader, I open the "Serial read - Arduino_input" example on Processing and the corresponding pin (which is connected to the reader) just flashes. So it seems to send that data from the tag to that pin, but I'm totally confused as how I can translate that back to the tag info inside processing.

I hope my description is understandable :)

Thanks alot

Tagged:

Answers