How to hold an image for a period of time?

edited March 2017 in Arduino

Hello, I'm fairly new to processing but have been doing a lot of research for a project I'm working on and have stumbled across a bit of a problem. What I'm trying to do is retrieve information from an arduino and display it on a map. To an extent I've been successful, I am able to get location image to display on the screen but because there are multiple inputs coming in per second the images flicker. I was wondering how I would be able to get it so that when the data reads positive, the image will show on the screen for more than a single frame. I apologize if this doesn't make very much sense, I can explain further if needed. Below is my code:

import processing.serial.*;
Serial myPort;
int val;
PImage img;
void setup()
{
   size(2592,1944);
   String portName = Serial.list()[0];
   println(Serial.list());
   myPort = new Serial(this, portName, 9600);
   img = loadImage("Bayer (1).jpg");
   frameRate(1500);
}
void draw()
{

while (myPort.available() > 0)
   {
      val = myPort.read();
      background(img);

if(val == 1)
      {
        fill(255,0,0);
        rect(900,700,100,100);
      }
      else if(val == 2)
      {
        fill(255,0,0);
        rect(1260,860,100,100);
      }
      else if(val == 3)
      {
        fill(255,0,0);
        rect(740,1060,100,100);
      }
      else if(val == 4)
      {
         fill(255,0,0);
         rect(1120,1240,100,100);
      }
      else
      {

}

}
}

Answers

• the image will show on the screen for more than a single frame.

Further details required. You want to hold the image for certain frames or you want your application to keep applying updates from received data while holding images for longer times?

What information is displayed in the map? Could you provide some code showing your approach?

Kf