Slicing images

edited February 2017 in How To...

Hello

Excuse my very poor English.

I am a very beginner.

I would like to be guided please.

My project :
1. I have a picture for example 1200/1200 pixels.
2. At any point in the picture, I click with the mouse to have a point "c".
3. This point "c" becomes the center of 5 concentric rings.
4. I would like to turn the rings a few degrees clockwise or counter-clockwise.

I have no idea that the pixels of the original photo become the pixels of my rings.

It would be nice of me to orient myself.

Thank you

What i want to do is this but in movement....

bury36396_p

Answers

• edited February 2017

@Hiram -- I'd suggest starting with a sketch that creates a simple rotated circle at the mouseClicked location. Later you can call your function five times in a row to five-concentric-rings effect.

One approach that might work:

1. Load your working background into a PImage, for example: imgBg
    2. Copy a rectangle of pixels around x,y into a PImage, for example: imgCircle
    3. mask imgCircle with a circle. Here is a basic mask() example. You can use elliipse() instead of triangle() for the shape you want.
    4. draw the rotated results on top of the old image, e.g. with blend()
    5. ...repeat the above process several times with smaller circles to create a nested effect.
  • this says textures to me

but i'd start by just drawing the circles on the image.

• Dear Jeremy ... Thank you for your suggestions, it is 23:00 here in Belgium and I will try your solution tomorrow in when I would be awake and being "aware" as said JCVD .... It is difficult to find a point Of departure for an artist who is not programmer ... I was not very digital art then I discovered and loved Manfred Mohr and since I try to create ... Thank you for your kindness

• edited February 2017