Sketch doesn't start

edited February 2017 in Using Processing

hello,

i'm a teacher and in my school, we used to program with Processing on laptops with win xp.

we have received new laptops under win 7 - 64 (core i5, 8Go Ram), and i've downloaded Processing 3.2 for win 64bits. Processing starts very slowly (2/3 minutes minimum !) and then, when i write any sketch even like :

8>< - - - - - - - -

println("hello world");

8>< - - - - - - - -

nothing appears in console :-(

With Ctrl-alt-suppr, i can see that a processus java.exe is launched but nothing in the console... Both kinds of laptops are in the same network, without modification in preference.txt

is anyone has an idea to help me ?

Thanks,

Thomas (Sorry for my english, i'm french...)

Answers

• edited January 2017

Maybe Windows' firewall is blocking it?
    Processing's IDE (PDE) needs local network access in order to communicate w/ its spawned running sketch. BtW, latest version is 3.2.3:
    https://Processing.org/download/?processing

But in case latest version fails, you should try out older versions.
    For example 3.1.2, which I'm currently using in my 64-bit Win7 laptop: O:-)
    https://GitHub.com/processing/processing/releases/tag/processing-0251-3.1.2

In general, when running a new Processing version for the 1st time, pay attention when the firewall message pops up, and accept it. >-)

• OK Thanks, I'll try that on monday.

Thomas

• Hello, so i've tried again : when i login as admin, i can launch Processing and execute sketches normally; when i login as user, i can launch Processing (but it's very slow : 4-5 minutes) but i can't execute any sketch :-( I'm very disappointed because i have to use it with pupils who are users and not admin... Firewall is not activated on windows.

Thanks for your help,

Thomas

• edited February 2017