G4P Custom Scrollbar and Text Anti-Aliasing

edited January 2017 in Library Questions

Hello everyone, I am a newbie programmer trying out Processing to make my own program to calculate some values for a game. I am using G4P library and G4P GUI Buiilder for the user interface.

Firstly, why do text on labels appear to have aliasing when the background is set to not opaque in the GUI builder (Look at 1 in the image)? I need to make the background of all labels opaque with the same colour as my sketch background to get smooth, anti-aliased text (the rest of the labels in the image). Is there a way to have transparent background and smooth text at the same time?

Secondly, is there any way to change the look of the scrollbar in a text area (Look at 2 in the image)? I am looking at plain square thumb and arrows buttons with no or light colour border instead of the default rounded ones with black outline. The user defined palette doesn't seem to change the colour of the outline out the scrollbar, it seems to be always black. Unchecking rounded corners in the GUI builder does not seem to change the shape of the scrollbar.

Thanks!

@quark

Answers

• Answer ✓

G4P uses double buffering for all visual controls to reduce CPU usage. It means that each control has an internal graphic buffer which is updated only when there is a change of state in the control eg mouse moves over a button, key typed in a text field etc. The graphic buffer is copied to the screen on each frame. When a buffer is updated the background is either transparent (setOpaque false) or cleared to a colour from the colour scheme (setOpaque true) so ignores the display colour under the control.

It does mean that text is not as sharp when the background is transparent. You found one solution by changing the background colour of each label. Another solution would to create a new colour scheme for the global scheme before calling create GUI. See the guides in on my website.