Can't find serial port on my mac in processing?

edited December 2016 in Arduino

When using processing on my mac book pro i am unable to find the serial port and instead i get an error message saying the serial port cannot be found. On my arduino its recognised as a USB modem. If anyone could help i'd greatly appreciate it!

Tagged:

Answers

• Hopefully this will help anyone understand my problem!

• How do i insert that into my existing code? what do i take out? I am new to this so sorry if im missing something obvious

• Please no screenshots of code for many reasons: it is unreadable, we cannot copy and paste to reproduce your problem and other forum goers will not be able to search your post in the forum. So copy and paste your code. To format your code in this forum, select your code and hit ctrl+o. Ensure there is an empty line above and below your code. Same applies for error codes and error messages.

For your question and adding to GoToLoop's post, right before the line that produces the error, you insert the following line:

printArray(Serial.list());

Then, when you run it, you will see in your console, a list of available Com ports in your machine. My guess is that you are typing the name of your ports in uppercase. This operation could be case sensitive. By using the serial list printout, you will see the proper name of your com ports.

Kf

• The port names don't always show up as COMxx. Sometimes other names end up coming, I don't know why.

• edited December 2016

Thanks for the advice Kf,

I inserted that line and got a list of all the available ports in the console. From this how do i select the one i want? Once i typed it in the error message for the com port went away but instead i got another error from the final line in the section.

> size (1250, 750); // ***CHANGE THIS TO YOUR SCREEN RESOLUTION***
            >  smooth();
            >  printArray(Serial.list());