Build a Pacman Game

Hi everyone. I am a complete beginner with processing. I have tried to build a pacman game. I assume i will need to build it with a grid and let the pacman follow the grid. However, I'm unsure about how I would create the little bits of food around the grid and the ghosts to move around it. Any help would be great. The only bit of code I have so far is creating the pacman and making the mouth move. Also is there a way to create walls in the game for the pacman to move around or would I need to use the grid and draw lines. Thanks.

int radius = 12;
int direction = 1;
int direction2 = 0;

float x = 250;
float y = 250;

void setup() {
  size(500, 500);
  ellipseMode(RADIUS);
}

void draw() {
  background(255);
  fill (0, 175, 255);
  smooth ();
  noStroke();
  render();

}

void keyPressed() {
  if (key == CODED) {
    if (keyCode == LEFT) {
      x = x - 10;
      direction = -1;
      direction2 = 0;
    }
    else if (keyCode == RIGHT) {  
      x = x + 10;
      direction = 1;
      direction2 = 0;
    }
    else if (keyCode == UP) {
      y = y - 10;
      direction = 0;
      direction2 = -1;
    }
    else if (keyCode == DOWN) { 
      y = y + 10;
      direction = 0;
      direction2 = 1;
    }
  }
}

void render() {
  for ( int i=-1; i < 2; i++) {
    for ( int j=-1; j < 2; j++) {
      pushMatrix();
      translate(x + (i * width), y + (j*height));
      if ( direction == -1) { 
        rotate(PI);
      }
      if ( direction2 == 1) { 
        rotate(HALF_PI);
      }
      if ( direction2 == -1) { 
        rotate( PI + HALF_PI );
      }
      arc(0, 0, radius, radius, map((millis() % 500), 0, 500, 0, 0.52), map((millis() % 500), 0, 500, TWO_PI, 5.76) );
      popMatrix();
      // mouth movement //
    }
  }
}
Tagged:

Answers

• Are you familiar with the concept of classes and OOP? You should consider having a look at the object tutorial in Processing's reference page.