Process images in a directory other than the sketchPath location

edited December 2016 in How To...

Greetings - I am very new to JAVA so bear with me please :) I'm using Processing 3.2.3 on a Windows 7 workstation

I am trying to work with images that are stored on a network drive and not in the sketch directory. As I read through the forum, I am confused - is this even possible? It would seem that by just using selectFolder and the resulting selection.getAbsolutPath - I should be able to change the directory I'm looking at. However, when I try this I can't seem to view / display anything using image(img,0,0) - where "img" is my loaded image. I just see a blank window. I suspect it has to do with the sketch not actually reading in the image - but don't know how to prove this.

I ran across mylink and it describes several possible options:
sketchPath(""); sketchFile(""); dataPath(""); dataFile("");

But frankly - being so new to JAVA and Processing, I know I am in over my head and don't know what to do with these operators - if anything. Any help is appreciated!

Answers

• I now see that "[mylink]" really means - type the link description. Learned something already!

• @ScottChabineau===

i have done that but some years ago! - so i am not absolutely sure about the answer; yet you cannot use neither selectFolder nor anything like dataPath() and so on which are relative to processing and your sketch; supposing you are (are you???) on a LAN you have to use the mac adress or ip from your LAN, then the path to your file... But as soon as i get some free time i ll look to my old code, which worked on my LAN...

• Thank you for the response - I look forward to seeing how you solved this. It sounds like you are saying I have to hardcode a mac address! That seems very odd - since all I am trying to do is: 1. select the folder where the images are (currently on a LAN~ but I would like them to be selectable no matter where the folder is located.