Shifting/re-shuffling pixels of an image

Hi, I am new to programming in general. I've just watched Daniel Shiffman's video on pixel arrays, there he changes the [r g b a] values of a pixel and then applies that change to all of the pixels in an image using a nested for loop (code below). So I'm wondering if I could use a similar logic to actually move a whole pixel to a random coordinate in the image - and then apply that to the whole image so that all of the pixels shift into a random order? Many thanks for any advice given

function preload() { img1 = loadImage("Assets/randimage2.png"); }

function setup() { createCanvas(img1.width, img1.height);

}

function draw() { image(img1);

loadPixels();

for (var y = 0; y < height; y++) { for(var x = 0; x < width; x++) { var index = (x + y * width)*4; pixels[index+0] *2; pixels[index+1] = 200; pixels[index+2] = 255; pixels[index+3] = 105; } }

updatePixels(); }

Answers

• Please format your code. Here's how: https://forum.processing.org/two/discussion/15473/readme-how-to-format-code-and-text

What exactly does this code do?

To accomplish what you're describing, I can think of two main approaches:

Approach 1: Randomly swap pixels in your image. You can do this using the get() function to return the color of a particular pixel, then the set() function to set the color of a particular pixel. Make sure to do both get() calls before you do the set() calls.

Approach 2: Convert your image into a data structure that holds the colors, like an ArrayList of color values. Then rebuild the image by pulling colors from that data structure.

The best thing you can do is try something, post an MCVE if you get stuck, and try to ask a more specific question about a particular line of code. Good luck!

• Thank you KevinWorkman! That's really helpful and cheers for pointing out different directions. I will see where I get to with both methods and will hopefully be back with more specific questions.

• @Gene_Webber --