loading images in G4P windows

edited December 2013 in Library Questions

Hello. I am new to processing and want to start with a simple program. This program should display images in seperate windows with seperate window sizes. I also need a notification, if a window is closed/opened. I want to use the G4P library, but if I use the background image I always get the message, that the image size must be the same size as the application. How could I check if a window is closed/opened? I want to display a warning image if a value has reached, but it only have to display again, if the window is closed. I think its easy, but I dont know how. I hope someone could help me. Thanks for helping.

Answers

• edited December 2013

So what's the question? How to check if a window is opened/closed?

In that case, you would use frame.getExtendedState(). To show on your example it would work like this:

void draw() {
      if (frame.getExtendedState() == 1) { //This checks if it is minimized
        println("This window is minimized.");
      } else if(frame.getExtendedState() == 0) { //This checks if it is not.
        println("This window is normal.");
      }
    }

Just note that this must be done in draw(), or some other looping function.

-- MenteCode.

• I want to open a second window to the sketch window. And the second window should display an image. I started with G4P library and tryed the constructor with a background image, but the image have a different size of the sketch window and doesn't work. How can I display an image in the second window and I need to know, if this second window with the image is closed?

• If you use the statement

`background(image);'

then the image MUST be the same size as the sketch/window display area. This is a Processing warning and nothing to do with G4P.