Gesture recognition and interactive animation using Kinect

edited October 2016 in Kinect

Hi all,

I am planning to make an interactive installation / video wall as a graduation project but I’m complete noob in programming. My idea is to make e.g. 4 different animations with After Effects and use them in an interactive installation that allows people to influence which animation plays using Kinect and gesture recognition. I’m wondering if I should buy Kinect 1 or 2? I know the basics of Processing but should I look into Processing or OpenFrameworks with this project? Also I would be extremely grateful for all kinds of tips on where to start! Thanks!

Answers

• Hi, Sofia,

I dont really know your programming level, so maybe working in processing should be useful. first of all is important to know in which platform you are going to work. Here I send you a link to installation of simple openni in mac, el capitan. Dued to the fact that openni is not opensource anymore, i think apple has bought it, you may have some problems for installing but for me, that link that I passed to you worked. If you want to work in windows, it can be useful for you to install the kinect sdk and test it. Which kind of interactions are you pretending of the people with the animations?

• @Sofia_hki -- when you say a video wall, do you mean projection from a single computer, or is it a custom multi-screen wall, and are the screens run by one computer or many separate computers? If a wall, the first thing you eat to find out is what kinds of programs you can run on it -- that will determine whether processing will work or not.

Also, how big (pixel dimensions) is the thing you are trying to create? Processing will be much easier to program for a new coder, but OpenFrameworks will (in general) give you better performance if you are pushing lots of pixels around.