How to save files to the data folder without needing an absolute path.

edited September 2016 in How To...

OK, maybe I'm making a big deal over nothing, I'm fairly new to Processing but -- loadStrings() expects to load a user-defined file from the current sketch's "data" folder , right? But saveStrings() does not SAVE to that folder, it goes out to the main sketch folder. SO if you want your program to load a file, modify it, and then resave it back to the data folder, you are forced to use an absolute path for saving, thus kinda blowing your portability, or at least forcing you to write a custom file saving routine. Am i wrong about this? Is there some easy way to direct your Sketch to actually save your data to the data forder? And if not, why the heck not? Is there some point to doing it this way?

Tagged:

Answers

• edited September 2016

Use saveStrings(dataPath("name_of_the_file"));. *-:)

• edited September 2016

loadStrings() expects to load a user-defined file from the current sketch's "data" folder, right?

Actually it 1st checks out the root's sketchPath. Only otherwise go to its "data/" subfolder. L-)

Oops! That's the opposite, as @jeremydouglass has pointed out! X_X

println(loadStrings("WhichFolder.txt")); // [0] "From Data!"
    exit();

• edited September 2016

Not quite true, GoToLoop - on a bare filename loadStrings() first checks dataPath, then sketchPath.

rickhatfield, I can see why this is confusing -- the saveStrings() reference says

By default, this file is saved to the sketch's folder.

and the [loadStrings() reference (https://processing.org/reference/loadStrings_.html) says

If the name of the file is used as the parameter, as in the above example, the file must be loaded in the sketch's "data" directory/folder. Alternatively, the file maybe be loaded from anywhere on the local computer using an absolute path