Processing to Arduino Serial

edited July 2016 in Arduino

Hello all!

I am new to Processing and want to be able to send and receive data between Processing 3 and my Arduino Mega 2560.

I have been following the examples provided in the Processing Serial library, SimpleRead and SimpleWrite.

I have managed to successfully use the SimpleRead example and have sent data from my mega to Processing.

However when I try and use the SimpleWrite example, sending data from Processing to the mega, it does not work. Basically what happens is once I have uploaded the code onto the mega and run the example in Processing the RX light of the Mega 2560 starts flashing indicating that it is receiving serial data from the program, all fine and good. The on-board LED at pin 13 also remains on continuously, don't know why.

Most importantly the user defined ledPin (as defined in the Arduino programming) does not change value regardless of whether the conditions set in the Processing code have been met or not (i.e. whether or not the mouse is over the box). I have assigned the ledPin to various different digital pins and it has not made a difference.

Any help would be most appreciated! The code I am using is below:

/** * Simple Write. * * Check if the mouse is over a rectangle and writes the status to the serial port. * This example works with the Wiring / Arduino program that follows below. */

import processing.serial.*;

Serial myPort; // Create object from Serial class int val; // Data received from the serial port

void setup() { size(200, 200); // I know that the first port in the serial list on my mac // is always my FTDI adaptor, so I open Serial.list()[0]. // On Windows machines, this generally opens COM1. // Open whatever port is the one you're using. String portName = Serial.list()[0]; myPort = new Serial(this, portName, 9600); }