Why can't I append a new vector to an array of vectors?

Hi Sages,

I'm new to Processing and trying to reverse understand from Python.

I have vTr, an array of 2D vectors, with a single element (the starting coordinates of my object) in it. When I try to append vN (new coordinates) to vTr, I get "Type mismatch, "java.lang.Object" does not match with "processing.core.PVector[]":

xPos = xPos + speed * vP.x;

yPos = yPos + speed * vP.y;

vN = new PVector(xPos, yPos);

vTr = append(vTr, vN); //This underlines in red and delivers the message above.

Does this mean I have to use an ArrayList? The Processing 3.0 page claims append() works with objects.

Thanks for any help!

Answers

• edited July 2016

Read the reference on append

use casting: like (PVector) or (PVector[]) or so

[edited]

• Thanks for your swift feedback Chrisir!

I had read the reference on append() and noted the example:

SomeClass[] items = (SomeClass[]) append(originalArray, element)

This didn't make any sense to me but following your advice I changed line 7 to:

vTr = (PVector) append(vTr, vN);

but now it says "processing.core.PVector" does not match with "processing.core.PVector[]" which I guess is getting closer to working.

What am I doing wrong? I've declared vTr as follows and got no errors:

vS = new PVector(startX, startY);

vTr = new PVector[1];

vTr[0] = vS;

Thanks again for your attention!

• Whoa! vTr = (PVector[]) NOT (PVector)! Checking now! Thanks!!!

• Hooray! That did it. Thanks much Chrisir. Can you repost the same answer so that I can respond accurately to the value of your help?

• If my pull requested were accepted years ago, there'd be no need for any (casts) like (PVector[]): :-<

https://GitHub.com/processing/processing/pull/2903

• edited July 2016 Answer ✓

Do you mean like this?

vTr = (PVector[]) NOT (PVector)!

• I'd recommend using an ArrayList rather than append(). An ArrayList is designed to be modifiable, an array isn't and append seems like a kludge.