Java does not quit

Hi - I'm totally new in Processing and have just tried to run some of the examples. They run, but when the program has finished the Javaicon stays in the dock of my Macbook - one for each example. It's not possible to force quit or to restart the computer. I have to shut it down with the power button. Am I doing something wrong?

Answers

• Hello. I have had the same issue as you when it comes to running the processing given examples. You open them up, they freeze up, and then its a pain in the backside to get them closed. What I would recommend is not opening those, because it can have to do with either your computer being too old, you not being connected to the internet, or the sketch is trying to run something that your computer can not support hardware related. (OpenGL and P3D for example). Now this happened to me on my old Windows computer and the best thing for me was to use the task manager. Now considering that you have a Macbook, i'm sure you have Terminal, maybe? I'm not so sure when it comes to Mac's which one has Terminal or not. But if you do, you could look online to see how to force close with Terminal? Maybe that will help. Tell me your results

• It is not only the example programs, that has a problem. If I make a little program myself it is the same. I am not able to use the Kill command in Terminal as I cannot determine the app’s Process ID (PID)- not able to identify it in Activity Monitor. My Macbook is only one year old, so I don't think that is the problem. I think it is something with Java?

• the top command will show you running processes. ditto ps -ef. it might not be obvious which is the processing sketch and which is processing ide though.

• ps -ef worked fine - but have You got any clou to the name of the processing sketch activity? I have closed Processing IDE normaly without any problem but the icon for Java is still in the dock.

• Try px auxwwwww which will give you more detail. Look for the name of the sketch.