Quark's musings

edited May 2016 in Share Your Work

I have been on this forum for just over 7 years now and in that time I have answered many questions (not always successfully :\"> ) but on many occasions I felt that while the answers helped the original poster a more in-depth analysis of the problem and solution would benefit many others.

So I have decided to start my own blog to do just that. I have just published my first post entitled "frameRate, frameCount and miilis" that I hope you will find interesting and informative. There will be more to follow as and when I find time.

Click to visit Quark's musings

Comments

• That painting is beautiful. Metallurgy is super cool. I'm a welder that used to work on 747 engines among several others using an Electron Beam Machine. Good ol' JT8D :)

I really support this blog idea. Almost like a reference for the reference! haha
    That framerate() v frameRate video explains a problem I was having a while back. trying to get something synced. Never thought to look at that. Thanks!

I think comparing millis() and System.nanoTime() might be useful as well.

• I did several years in non-destructive testing and x-rayed, gamma-rayed and ultrasonically tested miles of welding in my time.

Yes there are issues with using nanoTime that could be usefully discussed.

• BTW I am no artist I didn't create the painting :)

• That's so cool!! B-) Did you use isotopic or electronic for the gamma ray test? Heh, I put my doseometer on the EB control panel for only two days one time and it came back with 200x levels. Turns out there was only 1/r^2 "shielding" with a few mils of Pb...didn't work there much longer after that. Went to college for physics instead.

• Used Iridium 192 sealed isotope - great fun!

• edited April 2016

Holy crap, that's a strong ray! I was exposed to <100kev range. Beyond that, the base metal would turn to vacuum filled foam. :D You should have seen the 1 inch tungsten block we used for calibration. heheheh