Searching for a string in a text file.

Full disclosure, I'm very new to programming and very green.

What I'm attempting to do is build a program that has a series of "code words" it searches for in a standard text file. If those words appear, some kind of function happens. Here's the basic layout.

Read a text file. Search the text file for the word "on". When "on" is found print a message. From this point forward in the text document, search for "off". When "off" is found print a message. Go back to searching for "on".

When end of the document is reached, I want the program to only search for new data and not keep rereading preexisting data. Essentially I want the program to "remember where it is" so if something updates the text document it doesn't start from the beginning again.

Here is the code I have so far. I've tested it a few times and have run into a problem. The entire file is searched for "on" before the program searches for "off." I want the program to search for "on" until an instance is found in the text file and then from that instance moving forward search for "off."

String codeword1 = "on";
String codeword2 = "off";
int mySwitch = 0;

void setup(){

}

void draw(){
  String [] myfile = loadStrings("C:/Steven/Twitch/Testing Arduino Communication/String Test.txt");
  if (mySwitch == 0){
  for(int i = 0; i < myfile.length; i++){
    String tobesearched = myfile[i];
    int index1 = tobesearched.indexOf(codeword1);
    if (index1 >= 0){
      println("Light will be on");
      delay(1000);
      mySwitch = 1;

}
    else {
      println("String not found");
      delay(1000);
    }

}
  }
  if (mySwitch == 1){
    int index2 = tobesearched.indexOf(codeword2);
    if (index2 >= 0){
      println("Light will be off");
      delay(1000);
      mySwitch = 0;

}
    else{
      println("I don't want this text to appear");
      delay(1000);
    }
    }
  }
}