Minim and random numbers

edited November 2013 in Questions about Code

Right, I'm new at this so I'm probably missing something blindingly obvious.

import ddf.minim.*;
AudioPlayer[] player = new AudioPlayer[47];
Minim minim;

int count;

void setup() {
  size(displayWidth, displayHeight);
  minim = new Minim(this);

for (int b = 0; b < player.length; b++)
  {
     player[b] = minim.loadFile(nf(b+1, 2) + ".mp3");
  }
  player[count].play();
  }

void draw() {
  if(!player[count].isPlaying())
  {
    count = int(random(1, 47));
    if (count > 47) { count = 47; }
    player[count].play();   

}
  print(count);
  }

void stop()
{
  player[count].close();
  minim.stop();
  super.stop();
}    

Basically, what I wanted it to do was to, out of a pool of 47 mp3 files, select one at random, play it, and then select and play another one, and so on. It works fine for a while - a couple of hours, with each track lasting between 3-5 minutes. Then, for some reason, the randomly generated int count, which is supposed to have a value of between 1 and 47, just explodes, and starts giving values like 203958028021984 or something, which kills the playback. I'm stumped. I thought

if (count > 47) { count = 47; }

would keep it in line, but it doesn't seem to help.

Answers

• not sure i believe you about the random numbers tbh 8)

but you might need to rewind samples after you've played them (or before you play them, either way will work.)

• I don't know if it will make any difference as far as the problem you're having, but I think line 20 should probably be if(!player.isPlaying()) { because you don't really care which file is playing there right? Did you check how much memory it was using after a couple hours?

• Thanks for the suggestions. When I try changing line 20 as you described, though, it tells me that isPlaying() cannot be invoked on the array type Audioplayer[].

I'll let it run and see how much memory it uses.