Image Preload Directive Wont' Work

Hey all,

I'm new to Processing.js but fairly confident with Processing Java and I feel that this is so basic that it's embarrassing to post, but here it is. I'm trying to just do a simple test where I can load my image in the browser. Works fine in Java, doesn't work in a browser (I just get a blank page). In JS if I just draw primitive shapes, etc, they work fine, once I get into images, it goes to the craps. I looked at the references, Googled around, even tried other people's examples just replacing it with my image, nothing works.

I tried multiple browsers (Firefox, Chrome, Safari), tried it locally, and even tried uploading it to my server to see if it would fix it, no luck. Interestingly (or annoyingly?) I sent it to a colleague on a Mac whom it works for (in Chrome). I sent it to another colleague on a PC and it doesn't work. Any ideas as to what might be causing this?

I'm on OSX 10.8.5.

Processing Sketch:

// @pjs preload must be used to preload the image so that it will be available when used in the sketch  
/* @pjs preload="glitch.png"; */

PImage photo;

void setup() {
  size(300, 300);
  noFill();
  photo = loadImage("glitch.png");
}

void draw() {
  background(220);
  imageMode(CENTER);

image(photo, mouseX, mouseY, 100, 100);

/*ellipseMode(CENTER);
  ellipse(mouseX, mouseY, 100, 100);*/
}

HTML:

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
    <head>
        <script src="processing-1.4.1.min.js"></script>
    </head>
    <body> 
        <canvas data-processing-sources="circle/circle.pde"></canvas>
    </body>
</html>

Thanks in advance!

Answers

• edited November 2013

Yes, ProcessingJS is a different beast.

It looks like the forum platform has garbled your preload statement, it should look like this:

/* @pjs preload="glitch.png" */

You can let Processing in JavaScript mode create the directives by using menu JavaScript > Playback Settings (Directives)

The image files must reside in the same directory where the .pde file is.