meanings of codes

edited January 2016 in General Discussion

hi, i'm new to processing and i want to know the meanings of the different codes, can somebady please explain me the meanings of the different functions? thanks a lot

int N = 0;
int E = 1;
int S = 2;
int O = 3;
int dir = S;
int minL = 10;
int dWeight = 50;
int dStroke = 4;

float posX, posY;
float posXcross, posYcross;
float angleCount = 10;   
float angle = getRandomAngle(dir);
float stepSize = 5;

void setup(){
  size(800,800);
  colorMode(HSB, 360, 100, 100, 100);
  smooth();
  background(360);

posX = int(random(0, width));
  posY = 5;
  posXcross = posX;
  posYcross = posY;
}

void draw(){
  for (int i=0; i<=posX; i++) {
        strokeWeight(1);
        point(posX,posY); 
    }
   // posX = posX + cos(...... ; 
    posX += cos(radians(angle)) * stepSize;
    posY += sin(radians(angle)) * stepSize;

boolean reachedBorder = false;

if (posY <= 5) {
      dir = S;
    } 
    else if (posX >= width-5) {
      dir = O;
    }
    else if (posY >= height-5) {
      dir = N;
    }
    else if (posX <= 5) {
      dir = E;
    }

int x = (int) posX;
    int y = (int) posY;
    if (get(x, y) != color(360) || reachedBorder) {
      angle = getRandomAngle(dir);
      float distance = dist(posX, posY, posXcross, posYcross);
      if (distance >= minL) {
        strokeWeight(distance/dWeight);

line(posX, posY, posXcross, posYcross);
      }
      posXcross = posX;
      posYcross = posY;
    }
  }

float getRandomAngle(int theDirection) {
float a = (floor(random(-angleCount, angleCount)*7));

if (theDirection == N) return (a - 160);
  if (theDirection == E) return (a);
  if (theDirection == S) return (a + 130);
  if (theDirection == O) return (a + 180);

return 0;
}

Answers

• edited January 2016