Adding rules to a permutation generator

Hi everyone!

I'm an art student at the Royal College of Art in London, working with video. I'm very inexperienced when it comes to code, but the work that I'm currently doing does nevertheless involve coding. I'm getting some help from the college, but the process is slow since I can only book one hour a week with the tutor that is able to help me. Although I am trying to learn I'm also trying to finish this video project at the moment. I'm writing this post in the hope that someone in here can help me move forward a bit from where I'm stuck right now.

The work I'm doing involves video loops of very short duration: Four different loops of 3 frames, 6 frames, 12 frames and 24 frames, all playing at 24fps. What I want to do is reorganise the order of the frames of these very short loops, producing all possible non chronological iterations, playing through all the iterations before looping back to the first one and doing it all over again.

First, I found this permutation generator on the forum, provided by Chrisir:

Then, made some changes to the code to get what I have pasted at the end of this post. So far, this version "fails" all permutations that contain chronology of frame order (say, 2 followed by 3 or 5 followed by 6).