Displaying Serial inputs in G4P TextArea.

edited November 2015 in Library Questions

Hi,

I am new to G4P and now try to display ASCII line inputs in TextArea using code below. appendText works but I like to use the insertText method with newline addition . I then get the IndexOutofBound exeption error. What am I doing wrong?

import g4p_controls.*;
import processing.serial.*;

public static final short portIndex = 0;  
public static final char LF = 10;     
public static final char CR = 13;     
Serial myPort;     
GTextArea myTxArea; 
String myString="";

public void createGUI()
{
  G4P.messagesEnabled(false);
  G4P.setGlobalColorScheme(GCScheme.BLUE_SCHEME);
  G4P.setCursor(ARROW);
  surface.setTitle("Sketch Window");
  myTxArea = new GTextArea(this, 133, 2, 354, 262, G4P.SCROLLBARS_VERTICAL_ONLY);
  myTxArea.setOpaque(true);
}

public void setup()
{
  size(480, 320, JAVA2D);
  createGUI();
  println(" Connecting to -> " + Serial.list()[portIndex]);
  myPort = new Serial(this,Serial.list()[portIndex], 115200);
  myString = myPort.readStringUntil(LF);  
  myString = null;
  myTxArea.appendText("");
}

public void draw()
{
  background(230); 
  if ( myPort.available() > 0) 
  { 
      myString = myPort.readStringUntil(LF);
      if (myString!=null)
        //myTxArea.appendText(myString);
         myTxArea.insertText(myString,true,false);  
  }
}

Answers

• Try

if (myString!=null && myString.length() > 0)
         myTxArea.insertText(myString, false, true);  

• Sorry but now the error changed to String Index out of bounds. If I use false,true instead all lines are displayed in textarea but without any linefeeds beetween.

• OK go back to true false and then try

if (myString!=null && myString.length() > 0)
       myTxArea.insertText(myString + "\n", true, false); 

• Now I get sequential display of all lines again without any effect of the extra \n character. Also I cannot get any effect of the boolean operators in the insertText methode.