How to play an audio file sequentially.

edited October 2015 in Library Questions

Hey, I'm working on a new piece where a random number generator is connected to sound files of a lady I know screaming the numbers. So when the generator hits 1 it plays her screaming 1 and so on. I'm having trouble because I want the code to be in "void draw", however the audio files play over each other when I place it into that section.

I imagine that I need a piece of code to tell the next audio file to wait until the end of the last before it plays but I am an absolute beginner at coding, so I have no idea how to write it.

I have attached what I have done so far for reference, there is only one audio file in so far as I felt it was best to start simply and then add more audio files as I go.

import ddf.minim.*;

Minim house;
        AudioPlayer player1;

int christine;

void setup(){
          size(100,100);
        }

void draw(){

house = new Minim(this);

player1 = house.loadFile("u.wav");

christine = (int)random(10);

println("christine is "  + christine);
        player1.play();
        player1.isPlaying();
        for (int =
        }

Answers

• .isPlaying() tells you when its's over

your goal is to wait that long and then make the new random number and start a new song

you can fill an array in setup() and use it in draw()

• edited October 2015

it's better to post code here as text (and not as an image)

there is a sticky post here that explain how it's done

• Hey @Chrisir,

Thanks for that, I tried my best to edit the code so that it was posted properly, I don't think I got it quite right though.

As for the .isPlaying(), where should it tell me that it is over? I thought that it should return with a true or a false. So my idea was to use a conditional, if(), to say that if it was playing then it should pause the random number. However, as soon found out the if() only responds to integers. Sorry for being so dense but do you reckon you could help a little more?