(RESOLVED) How to make a counter which uses button presses?

edited June 2015 in Questions about Code

Hello, i'm very new to processing and just trying to make a counter which will start at 0 and increase in increments of '2' up to a total '255' when i press "W" on my keyboard. (and will continue to count up if the key is held down and stop once released). i also want to be able to have the counter count backwards from its current state when i press "S" on my keyboard also in increments of '2' and go no lower '0'.

so far I've only managed to get the counting up part working but struggling with finding a way to count backwards. any help will be greatly appreciated, I will post my code so far.

int minimumValue = 0;
int interval = 2;
int maximumValue = 255;
int currentValue =0;

void setup() {
  size(200, 200);
}

void draw() {

background(0);
  if (keyPressed) { 
    if (key == 'W' || key == 'w') {
      int speedUp = currentValue+=interval;
       currentValue = constrain (speedUp, minimumValue, maximumValue);
      text(currentValue, 100, 100);
    }

if (key == 'S' || key == 's') {
      int speedDown = currentValue+= -interval;
       currentValue = constrain (speedDown, minimumValue, maximumValue);
      text(currentValue, 100, 100);
    }
  }
}

Answers

• If you press Ctrl+t to auto-format your code nicely, you'll notice the problem.

Your checks for key being S are inside the block of code that executes only when key is W!

Try moving a curly brace!

• You might also want to use keyPressed() and keyReleased() instead. And maybe have a "current" variable, which would be the right name for it.