Simple Function, I'm just new to this. ("Operations")

edited May 2015 in How To...

I have an assignment and I just do not understand what it is that I have to do.

My assignment says: 1. Write a function in Processing, called “Operations” which will receive 3 values: int operType, int operand1, and int operand2. This function will perform a different operation based on operType:

operations(1,2,3); = Perform the addition of 2+3 operations(2,2,3); = Perform the multiplication of 2*3 operations(3,2,3); = Perform the subtraction of 2-3 operations(4,2,3); = Perform the division of 2/3 operations(5,2,3); = Perform the exponent of 23

The function should be of type float and return the result to the setup method for you to print it there HINT: Use if statements in your method to determine what operation you should use.

I understand how to do "calculator commands" as we call them in class but I do not understand what I have to do with the float.

Thank you.

Answers

• edited May 2015 Answer ✓

it's always best to start writing your code and then show it here

you could call the function called “Operations” from draw() and use the return value (aka the result) in a println statement.

• so you can call “Operations” from draw() 5 times each with another "calculator command"

;-)

• edited May 2015
      import processing.pdf.*;

void setup() {
        size (600, 600, PDF, "blank.pdf");
      }

void draw() {
        operations(+, 2, 3);
        operation(*, 2, 3);
        operation(-, 2, 3);
        operation(/, 2, 3);
        operation(pow, 2, 3);

void operations (int opertype, int operand1, int operand2) {
        println(opertype, operand1, operand2); 
      }

I have this so far.

• edited May 2015

ok...

the func "operations" should return something...

you need to replace void by a type it should return...

hint: see assignment

also, you need to println the result the function is returning (that is in draw(), but in the assignment it says, do it in setup())