We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › .equals() use in a string with sentences
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
.equals() use in a string with sentences (Read 2340 times)
.equals() use in a string with sentences
Jun 10th, 2010, 9:44am

Hello,

I'm new at this, I'm doing a basic text analysis of the play 'Julius Caesar' by Shakespeare.

Because it is a play the text looks like this:
CAESAR: sentences of caesar.
BRUTUS: sentences of brutus.

I have 2 strings that I use to analyze the text: one is called 'name', it searches for the names of characters within the text (like CAESAR, BRUTUS) and the other one is called 'phrase', which looks for the sentences only.

For the analysis I use name.equals("CAESAR") to search for the names, which works perfectly. But when I try this within the other string nothing happens. So something is wrong with using phrase.equals("something") . I tried searching for a whole sentence in the phrase string and that did work, but I want it to find one word in that sentence.

I hope someone can help! (the project deadline is tomorrow (: )

Thanks!

Re: .equals() use in a string with sentences
Reply #1 - Jun 10th, 2010, 10:07am

If you need to search for an occurrence of a word in a sentence, there are several methods in the String class that can help. The simplest is probably contains(). For example,

Quote:
String quote = "You blocks, you stones, you worse than senseless things!";

boolean hasYou = quote.contains("you");
boolean hasBlock = quote.contains("block");
boolean hasJuliet = quote.contains("Juliet");

println("Contains 'you': "+hasYou);