We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
No Global Var (Read 588 times)
No Global Var
Apr 5th, 2010, 1:10pm

For a project in my class we have to design a little game, but using no global variable. I'm still very new to Processing and programming in general so I can't really think of a way to do this. Since draw re-run infinitely and setup is only run once I can't find a way to make something as simple as having a square move up when a key is pressed.

A rough outline I have is that

player hero;

void setup()
{
 size(400,400);
 background(255);
 hero = new player(50,200,300);
}

void draw()
{
if ( keyPressed & (key == 'w') )
{
  hero.move();
}
}

class player {

int sSize;
int xPos;
int yPos;

player(int size_, int xPos_, int yPos_)
{
  sSize = size_;
  xPos = xPos_;
  yPos = yPos_;
  background(255);
  stroke(0);
  fill(155);
  rectMode(CENTER);
  rect(xPos,yPos,sSize,sSize);
}

void move()
{
 yPos--;
 background(255);
 stroke(0);
 fill(155);
 rectMode(CENTER);
 rect(xPos,yPos,sSize,sSize);
}

}

Is there a different way to achieve this w/o using global variable?

Also is there a way to move the square w/o having to redraw the background? like remove the previous square somehow? because the background will be a room with a random placement for the door, if draw runs the function again then the door might be in a different location.

If any clarifying needs to be done, please let me know.

Thanks!
Re: No Global Var
Reply #1 - Apr 5th, 2010, 3:19pm