We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › Swell charts
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Swell charts (Read 2070 times)
Swell charts
Mar 29th, 2010, 5:11am

Hi - yesterday i visited the decode exhibition in the V&A London and was totaly blown away by some of the exhibits.

Whilst reading the guide on the train home i was introduced to this software and i spent some time last night exploring because i think it might be the perfect tool for my latest project.

I am a carpenter by trade and have very little programming exp but Im very eager to learn. My idea is to recreate a more creative version of the thermal type swell charts that can be viewed here on  

magicseaweed.com the colourful charts that you see on the front page

These charts are created in Python with MATPLOT LIB and are fed by freely available GRIB data fom the NOAA.

I have created some software with the help of someone else that downloads the GRIB data then applys my own algorithims to reflect what local conditions are needed for good surfing conditions at any given lat/lon this then creates a CSV file that returns a value between 1 and 5 for the different variables such as wind, wave height, wave direction. eg. if the GRIB data shows a SW wind blowing at 40 mph for my local beach and i know that the best wind is usuall a NE then it will return a value of 0 if the GRIB reads a NE wind at 5mph it would return 5 etc, the software then totals up all of the variables and produces an overall of score between 0-50 for a chosen beach.