We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › Help with classes, program isn't running
Pages: 1 2 
Help with classes, program isn't running (Read 2835 times)
Help with classes, program isn't running
Mar 2nd, 2010, 6:14pm

I'm a pretty new programmer working on a project involving classes. I want to create a Tigger-like creature that bounces (using gravity). I haven't gotten that far yet unfortunately. When I run the following code, I get a "expecting IDENT, found ','" error.

Code:
int width=800;
int height=600;
float xpos=400;
float ypos=200;
float headwidth=60;
float headheight=100;
float nosewidth=40;
float noseheight=30;
float noseoffset=30;
float bodywidth=60;
float bodyheight=200;
float bodyoffset=150;
float direction=1;
float speed=4;
float levelofshake=5;
float bounciness=5;
float white=255;
float redness=255;
float greenness=140;
float blueness=0;

Creature tigger;

void setup() {
 size(width,height);
 smooth();
 tigger=new Creature(xpos,ypos,direction,speed);
}

void draw() {
 background(white);
 tigger.display();
 //tigger.bounce(bounciness);
 //tigger.shake(levelofshake);
 //tigger.talk();
}

class Creature {
 Creature(tempXpos,tempYpos,tempDirection,tempSpeed) {
   xpos=tempXpos;
   ypos=tempYpos;
   direction=tempDirection;
   speed=tempSpeed;
 }
}

void display() {
   fill(redness,greenness,blueness);
   ellipse(xpos-noseoffset,ypos,nosewidth,noseheight); //ellipse for the nose
   ellipse(xpos,ypos,headwidth,headheight); //ellipse for the head
   ellipse(xpos,ypos+bodyoffset,bodywidth,bodyheight); //ellipse for the body
 }