We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › Initializing Variables
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Initializing Variables (Read 741 times)
Initializing Variables
Feb 26th, 2010, 1:05pm

Hi,

I am a graphic designer and have been learning CSS and XHTML but I think Processing is more difficult (for me at least).

I am learning Processing through the Learning Processing book by Daniel Shiffman. At certain points, it will ask questions about Pong. I played the game and sort of understand what it is about.

On p. 49, it asks "Write out variable declaration and initialization for the game Pong.  Huh I have no idea how to answer that. The book went over Primitive types of variables: (boolean, char, byte, short, int, long, float, double) yet none of them seem applicable for a computer ping pong game. Can someone explain this to me in simple terms?  Undecided
Re: Initializing Variables
Reply #1 - Feb 26th, 2010, 1:41pm

Certainly. In the game of pong there's a ball and two paddles that the ball bounces between. If you miss bouncing the ball back, your opponent gets a point. Get 15 points and you win.

Now, if you were a computer, you'd have to remember several very important pieces of information to be able to simulate a game of pong.
You would need to keep track of the score for both players.
You would need to keep track of where the paddles are.
You would need to keep track of the ball's position.
You would need to keep track of the ball's velocity.