We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › Random kanji generator
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Random kanji generator (Read 2723 times)
Random kanji generator
Feb 25th, 2010, 8:09pm

Hello, newbie here. I would like to make random japanese characters (specifically kanji) appear in a sketch. I'm thinking that a random number generator could make numbers that would be read as unicode codes. Can anyone help me with this? Is this possible? Thanks!
Re: Random kanji generator
Reply #1 - Feb 25th, 2010, 11:07pm

It is possible, but I think you have to define several ranges. At least if you want to display katakana & hiragana along with kanji of various level.
You must use loadFont of a font with characters in the right ranges (Arial Unicode MS for example, or perhaps Cyberbit, Code2002 or MS Gothic/MS Mincho. See also Large, multi-script Unicode fonts.
By loading it in JAVA2D mode (default), it isn't converted to bitmap, so memory is preserved.

According to Wikipedia, the needed ranges are quite compact:
U+3040–U+309F Hiragana
U+30A0–U+30FF Katakana
U+4E00–U+9FBF Kanj
So we need to draw a number in the range 0 to (0xA0-0x40)+(0x100-0xA0)+(0x9FC0-0x4E00)=0x5280 (thanks, Google, for the answer on the computation...) and map it to the correct ranges.
Note that the said kanji range is actually the CJK Unified Ideographs range, grouping Chinese, Japanese and Korean characters, so it is actually a superset of what we need in Japanese.
It could be interesting to limit ourself to the jōyō kanji list, the base 1945 characters first learned by students of Japanese language.