We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › Questions about my first Pong program
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Questions about my first Pong program (Read 2110 times)
Questions about my first Pong program
Feb 12th, 2010, 3:01pm

So I'm pretty new at the Processing language, and have only gotten to the conditionals chapter of Daniel Shiffman's book, yet I think I've done pretty well with this program. Questions are in the comments. But I've one more question I didn't include: Sometimes when the ball is lost, I wait a moment and I see it coming back on screen. I don't know why this is, but how can I fix it? Thanks very much!  Smiley

Code:
//I set my variables
float xstart=100;
float xspeed=5;

void setup() {
size(800,600);
smooth();
}

void draw() {
background(255);

fill(0);
ellipse(xstart,300,50,50);
xstart=xstart+xspeed;

if (xstart>700&&mouseY>225&&mouseY<375) { //If mouse gets to the edge of the right rectangle while the rectangle is in the proper Y-range,
xspeed=-xspeed; //Then bounce the ball back
}
else if (xstart<100&&mouseY>225&&mouseY<375) { //If mouse gets to the edge of the left rectangle while the rectangle is in the proper Y-range,
xspeed=-xspeed; //Then bounce the ball back
}

//My rectangles/paddles
rectMode(CENTER);
fill(0);
rect(50,mouseY,50,150);
rect(750,mouseY,50,150);
}

/*When the ball is lost, I want to be able to click and have the ball reappear in the middle of the screen, heading toward the right. How would I do this?
Clearly my current code isn't accomplishing this.*/
void mousePressed() {
}
Re: Questions about my first Pong program
Reply #1 - Feb 12th, 2010, 3:49pm