We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › Array of objects inside a class...
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Array of objects inside a class... (Read 596 times)
Array of objects inside a class...
Jan 30th, 2010, 1:03am

well. i'm a total noob here, so bear with me please. Smiley

This is what I'm trying to do:

I want a playerCard class, which will represent a playing card.
I wand a deck class, which will represent a deck, and consist of
a given number of playerCards, plus some other variables, which I don't need arrays of.

so this is the abbreviated playerCard class:
Code:

class playerCard
{
 int player_value, id;
 int current_value, side, position;
 String name, attrib, type;
 boolean inDeck, inHand, discarded;  

playerCard()
 {
   attrib="none";
   player_value=0;
   position=0;
   type="none";
   name="NONAME";
   current_value=0;
   side=0;
   position=0;
   inHand=false;
   inDeck=false;
   discarded=false;
 }

void discard()
 {
   inHand=false;
   inDeck=false;
   discarded=true;
 }
}

and this is what I'd like the deck class to be:

Code:
class deck extends playerCard
{

int card_number;
 int position;
 int cards_now;
 boolean shuffled;
 boolean played;
 boolean empty;
 boolean full;

deck(int num)
 {

card_number=num;

playerCard [] newCards=new playerCard[card_number];

shuffled=false; played=false; empty=false; full=true;

for (int i=1; i<=card_number; i++)
   {
     card[i].discard();
   }
 }
}

This, of course doesn't work. I get null pointer errors everywhere.