We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSound,  Music Libraries › Processing MIDIFILE reading support
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Processing MIDIFILE reading support (Read 4410 times)
Processing MIDIFILE reading support
Jan 13th, 2010, 9:22pm

Hello my name is Faust,
I am new to processing, just started now to learn it. I am an electronic music producer so what really interest me is how processing interact with midi. I downloaded rwmidi library. I would like to ask you to help me a littlebit starting using midi in processing, simple code examples will be really welcome.

What I want to do is starting with a very simple midi file in which only 2 notes are played ( C3 - G3 ). here attached file. So when C3 is played a circle is drawn and when G3 is played a line is drawn.

ww.sendspace.com/file/r6tlhx

thanks in advance

Dr Faust

PS. it seems I can't add a proper link on my message...am I wrong?
Re: New to processing - need help about midi
Reply #1 - Jan 14th, 2010, 9:17am

if not code examples, links or just simple advices are welcome too Roll Eyes

Smiley
Reply #2 - Jan 14th, 2010, 10:37am

neither rwmidi or the two midi libraries in the processing libraries docs appear to be able to read midi files - all take their data from midi events generated by actual devices.

there is this:

http://processing.org/discourse/yabb2/num_1240555854.html

and this

http://processing.org/discourse/yabb2/num_1253105559.html

(i just googled for 'processing read midi file')

(and you can't post links until you've posted several (5) comments. the restriction is there to reduce spam.)
Reply #3 - Jan 15th, 2010, 7:27am