We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › getting user input before draw runs
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
getting user input before draw runs (Read 1665 times)
getting user input before draw runs
Jan 8th, 2010, 8:56am

I'm new to Processing, so this may be a stupid question. I'm writing a program that creates an animated line graph from a CSV file. I want the user to be able to define certain things, such as the length of the axes, before the data is plotted. Ideally, I want to create a GUI that allows the user to control these parameters.

Any thoughts on how I should structure the program? I've already written code that plots the data, but I can't see how I can insert the GUI code inside the same draw function. I want the GUI to be active before the plotting begins, and then to disappear. It's as if I need two draw functions. Is there a way of achieving something like that?

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

jim
Re: getting user input before draw runs
Reply #1 - Jan 8th, 2010, 10:08am

Code:
boolean settingsComplete;  // defaults to false

void setup() {
 size(400,300);
}

void draw() {
 // (!settingsComplete) is equivalent to (settingsComplete == false)
 if(!settingsComplete) {
   // Draw the GUI
   // Presumably you'll have a control to determine when all settings have been set:
   if(okButtonPressed){
     settingsComplete = true;
   }
 }

// if settingsComplete then draw...
 else {
   // plot data...
   // You could obviously add a control to switch 'settingsComplete' back to false and return to the GUI...
 }
}
Reply #2 - Jan 8th, 2010, 12:01pm

Jim,