We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › Classes, classes, classes! (and games)
Pages: 1 2 3 
Classes, classes, classes! (and games) (Read 4019 times)
Classes, classes, classes! (and games)
Jan 1st, 2010, 9:20pm

This is a general topic, about organising an algorithm using classes.
I have been using classes for quite some time in c++, and now I am doing some simple stuff with processing, mainly game-like applications.
The thing is that, I am not quite sure that I get the most out of what "classes" can offer. Being self-taught and all...
For example when I make a game where there are about 100 balls moving around, and things happening, I make a class called "ball" and then use an ArrayList to handle the balls in a "for-loop".
Something like that:
Quote:
for(int j = balls.size() -1; j>=0; j--){
 ball bl = (ball) balls.get(j); //get every single ball
 bl.handle();                      //do stuff to it
}

But this piece of code could be much more complex, and balls could be one of the many things I use in a game.
So I have a main game-loop which stands for the "game engine", (in our case the void Draw(){} loop), and in which all the checks of conditions and actions are happening.
This looks alot like the traditional game loop, the only difference being that some very low-level entities have been turned into classes, and thus the code is quite more readable and simple.
But what I am missing is the way to organize the whole project using classes, one including another, and so on... Perhaps using a class as the game engine?